top of page

Addendum to "A Transhumanist View of Sexual Relations"

Here's a bit of a touchy subject, which is why I deliberately made it its own post, and I'm actually gonna do something I don't normally do, which is issue a trigger warning for it. Don't expect me to make a habit of it; but in this case, I do it in the hopes of reaching people where they are, not where I wish they were. To give you a chance to turn back if you're not ready to hear what I have to say, if all the other stuff was too much already.


For some of you, the rest of this post will seem rather academic and matter-of-fact, and you'll wonder why I bothered doing that for something so clearly not-controversial. The old me wouldn't have done this, but the new me is much more aware of persuasion and the ability for people to twist things and take things out of context, so there's your answer.


Abandon all hope, ye who enter here. You have been warned!


Right, so the last point I wanna make here is that, in the robot sexual revolution, there will be a lot of vicarious sexual depravity; and as a transhumanist, I feel it's intellectually honest to be forthright about that. There will be shifts you don't like. There will be shifts I don't like, but for which there is no real better solution than to allow it to happen, assuming it's done in an ethical way.


For instance, through the use of technology, you can be a ninety-year old lech fucking a little lolibot modeled after a four-year old and that's ok because at least you're not out fucking little boys and girls in real life. Some of you are probably thinking that "ok" might not necessarily be the right word for it; and sure, I detest pedophilia as much as the next person, but hopefully you know what I mean.


Again, if it's not something that can be cured or controlled, would you rather these perverts express their degenerate sexual fantasies on real people or a hunk of metal and some pixels? I think deep down, we all agree on this point.


Save a child, fuck a robot.


The same is true of the furry community. If you don't know what that is, I won't be the one to shatter your virgin ears and eyes (oops!), but for those who know, the same principle applies.


If it's not going away, I'd rather there just be an app for that fap, and I think you would too.


Does that mean potentially having to tolerate things like sexual depravity, sexual violence, degeneracy, homosexuality, transsexuality, pedophilia, beastiality, the creation of cyborgs, human chimeras, and the like? Yes, yes it does. But again, and this is the important part, wait for it ... it'd be confined strictly to freely consenting adults, robots, and virtual projections; so there would be no criminal element to any of it.


Obviously, if it's not consensual, if it involves real children, real animals, the same rules apply as now. That's the whole point. But assuming that's not the case, if it's just transhumanist sex, it'd be no more immoral than your own thoughts and your own sexual perversions, meaning that, unless you're in favor of prosecuting people for thought crimes (which we already know what that looks like) you'll just have to deal with it.


Assuming it's not something that could be "cured," if that's even desirable, which I don't know that it is. Topic for another time, perhaps.


Even if technology could change people to be "normal," whatever that means, there's still the question of whether it'd be moral to force people to accept such a treatment if they didn't want it. Some of you might be tempted to say no, others might say yes, but I can personally think of other instances, other scenarios, to contradict either answer. If nothing else, people have different cut-off points for what they tolerate, which is why I listed things like LGBT in the previous paragraph, because some of you reading this are ok with those things, but not further down the line. Others aren't ok with any of it.


That's something individuals and society will have to work out as we go forward. Again, that's a topic for another time.


For some of you, what I just said in this post may sound terrifying and you'd rather not face the reality of it; but we've only just scratched the surface. It gets a lot deeper and darker than that. There are places even I won't tread at the bottom of the rabbit hole. I'm sure at least one person probably read the last few paragraphs and had to go call their therapist because it reminded them of some past trauma they'd experienced (which if that's the case, you have my deepest sympathies and I hope you're able to work through that to find inner peace). Others probably had to call a priest to pray for my soul, and I'm sure some asshole out there is probably trying to report this article and shut me down because they're reading something into it that I didn't say, because they failed reading comprehension in school and are giving into their childish insecurities.


(Again, something that technology can hopefully resolve.)


I'm sympathetic to your feelings about this, but I will not shy away from topics just because they're uncomfortable. Part of the point of this site is to bring uncomfortable topics to light, for the night is dark and full of terrors, but the fire burns them all away.


See? Now, that wasn't so bad. Was it? We got through it together.


Once you know where the eldritch monsters of the deep reside, you can more safely navigate your way around them without fear. We'll be forced to face this eventually, so we might as well prepare for it now while it's still early in the game.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page